OAKLAND, CA – With nearly 1500 attendees and over 100 exhibitors, National Meat Association’s MEATXPO’01 and 55th Annual Convention in Las Vegas, Nevada February 18-21 was one of NMA’s largest events ever. NMA’s premier biennial exposition was set this year at the lovely Rio Hotel and Casino Resort, where the glitz and glam of Las Vegas were perfectly balanced with the excellence of the staff and the convenience of the Pavilion convention hall.

NMA announced the following awards at the convention: NMA Honorary Director Florence Smith Powers was on hand to receive NMA's first ever Supplier of the Century award on behalf of her company Birko Corp. Supplier of the Year this year was given to Jay Thomas of Townsend Engineering. Professional of the Year went to NMA Associate Director Etta Reyes. Reyes has been with National Meat Association for over thirty years. John Duyn of Carlton Packing took home NMA's most prestigious award, the E. Floyd Forbes. And California State University, Fresno won the 'Hold the Mustard' Award at Sausagefest 2001 for the Bulldog Pepperjack Sausage made by a group of ingenious students.

Special Guest Speakers at MEATXPO'01 included keynote speaker R. Randolph Devening, CEO of Foodbrands America and FSIS Associate Administrator Margaret Glavin. As well as General Session participants: Dr. Dave Theno, Jack in the Box; Dr. Gary Smith, Colorado State University; Dr. Ranzell Nickelson, Foodbrands America; Dr. Dell Allen, Excel Corp; Dr. Morris Potter, formerly of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in Atlanta; Dr. Winkler Weinburg, Section Chief, Infectious Disease Service of the Southeast Permanente Medical Group, Kaiser Permanente and Emily Green of the Los Angeles Times. The focus of General Session panel was BSE and food safety.

NMA’s Board of Directors solidified its policy on the prevention of Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy (BSE), which has never been detected in the United States.

The following officers were elected at the convention: Immediate Past Chairman of the Board, Harvey Dietrich, Cholla Livestock; Chairman of the Board, Joe Azzaro, Palama Meat; President, Terry Caviness, Caviness Packing; Vice President, Ted Miller, E.A. Miller; Executive Director Rosemary Mucklow, NMA; Secretary, Gary Waldman, United Food Group; Treasurer, Wayne Keener, K&N Meats; Member at Large (new position) Curry Roberts, PM Holdings.

[NMAonline] [Responsive] [Press Releases] [Events] [Washington] [NMA is News] [Awards] [Work Together] [Hot Topics] [Resourceful] [Reliable] [and Fun] [Contact Us] [Sitemap]


Jeremy Russell
National Meat Association
(510) 763-1533
[email protected]

[Printable View]