September 12, 2001

[email protected]



OAKLAND, CA -- The NMA Scholarship Foundation released the names of the seven college students selected as recipients of scholarship grants for the 2001-02 academic school year.


NMA Scholarship Foundation President Ron Gustafson is pleased to announce that the winners selected this year are:


DeBenedettie Scholarship David Schroeder, University of Nebraska, Lincoln


Edie Schmidt Scholarship Janice Young, Kansas State University


Al Piccetti Award Thomas Nack, University of Wisconsin, Madison


NMA Scholarship Grant John Ellebracht, Texas A&M University

Sarah Baker, University of Idaho

Kari Russell, University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Dale Woerner, Texas Tech University

Kim Koskela, University of Tennessee, Knoxville,

Bradley Stevermer, University of Wisconsin, River Falls.


The awards will be presented at National Meat Association's Annual Meeting, which will be held during the association's 56th Annual Convention in Monterey California, February 20-23, 2002.


The NMA Scholarship Foundation is adminstered by the Directors of the NMA Scholarship Foundation. These $2,000 to $2,500 merit-based awards are presented annually to undergraduate students studying Animal/Meat/Food Science or related Agriculture Engineering and considering a career in the meat industry.


National Meat Association is a non-profit trade association representing meat packers and processors, as well as equipment manufacturers and suppliers who provide services to the meat industry. The association, with over 600 members throughout the United States, includes membership in Canada, Australia and Mexico.