FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                                             

June 27, 2001                                                                                                                                                 

            [email protected]



OAKLAND, CA – NMA  Executive Director, Rosemary Mucklow spoke last week to the House of Representatives Subcommittee on Regulatory Reform on how small businesses in the meat industry can be devastated by regulatory uncertainty.  These businesses face such unprecedented consolidation that Mucklow was specifically invited to speak at this Small Business Roundtable in Washington, DC on June 21.


“A small business, faced with the uncertainty about what rules to follow, whether their business can be profitable, and whether their line of business has become subject to substantial fines and criminal penalties, has huge incentives to exit the business and move the family’s money into passive, less risky investments such as stocks and real estate,” said Mucklow.


She  went on to explained that many small businesses have sold out during the past decade due to problems with HACCP, poorly trained inpectors, USDA’s standard for raw meat products, damages by the Mandatory Price Reporting Act, zero tolerance for Listeria monocytogenes on ready-to-eat products as well as increasing consolidation. “Regulation should serve the common interest of business and government to provide safe food to consumers rather that be structured as a contest, or even a war, between government and industry,” said Mucklow.


Although NMA has a continued presence in Washington, it was Mucklow’s hope that by reaching out to the House Subcommittee on Regulatory Reform, some of the pressures could eventually be alleviated.


National Meat Association is a non-profit trade association representing meat packers and processors, as well as equipment  manufacturers and suppliers who provide services to the meat industry. The association, with over 600 members throughout the United States, includes membership in Canada, Australia and Mexico.